In memory of Father Gerry

Pastor of the Saint Raphael the Archangel parish, Father Gerald Sinel (“Father Gerry”) worked as a priest for more than 42 years. He also served as chaplain of St. Mary’s Hospital Centre for several years. In August 2007, Father Gerry passed away from pancreatic cancer, at the age of 82.

A man of great faith, Father Gerry dedicated his life to taking care of others and encouraged each of us to do the same. He was known and appreciated for his unconditional love, devotion, great listening skills, contagious smile, and his infinite compassion for the ill, the dying, and their loved ones.

During his last days, Father Gerry considered himself privileged to benefit from the attentive care of the professionals at the West Island Palliative Care Residence. Many times, he expressed a wish for transforming the St. Raphael church into warm and welcoming home for people at the end of their life.

We are extremely proud and happy to be working towards the realization of his dream, which has become the project of an entire community.

Once upon a time, there was Romaine Ardizzon

A self-taught pianist and composer, Romaine Ardizzon had a dream: that her music might one day be known to the public. However, since one still needs to make a living while waiting for recognition, Romaine worked as a receptionist at Élogia and at L’Image d’Outremont, two of Groupe Maurice’s seniors’ homes.

Then one day, cancer struck. Touched by this tragic diagnosis and by the beauty of her music, Luc Maurice, founder and President of Groupe Maurice, decided to make Romaine’s dream a reality. He made sure everything was done for Romaine to record her first album. Her CD Plus loin que l’azur was produced with the help of Raymond Paquin, former producer and agent of Dédé Fortin of Les Colocs. Sadly, just as the recordings were completed, Romaine passed away.

Around the same time, the group of volunteers at St. Raphael’s was busy pushing forward its project of building a palliative care home and day centre, in memory of Father Gerry, the last Pastor of Saint Raphael the Archangel parish, who had also passed away from cancer a few years prior and who had so ardently wished to found a palliative care home in the heart of his community.

It turns out that it was Dr. Justine Farley, then Chair of the Board of Directors of St. Raphael’s, who accompanied Romaine Ardizzon until her last breath. It also turns out that Marie-Michèle Del Balso, First Vice President at Le Groupe Maurice, also sat on the Board of Directors of St. Raphael’s. And so the community found itself at the crossroads of two great dreams—Romaine’s and Father Gerry’s.

As a tribute to Romaine, her loved ones have donated the royalties from her CD to St. Raphael’s, and Groupe Archambault has generously committed to ensure its distribution. To date, more than 6,000 copies have been sold, helping to raise more than $120,000 for St. Raphael’s.

Romaine Ardizzon will have fulfilled not one, but two dreams: recording an album, and helping the St. Raphael Palliative Care Home and Day Centre come to be.

“She left us with a smile, knowing that these notes would resonate in the hearts of many.”
Sophie Thibault, anchorwoman at TVA, and a great friend of 
Romaine

To purchase Romaine’s CD ($20 each):
C : info@maisonstraphael.org
All of the proceeds from the sale of this album go to St. Raphael’s

À la mémoire du Père Gerry

Curé de la paroisse Saint Raphael the Archangel, le père Gerald Sinel (« Père Gerry ») a œuvré comme prêtre pendant plus de 42 ans. Il fut également l’aumônier du Centre hospitalier de St. Mary pendant plusieurs années. En août 2007, Père Gerry est décédé d’un cancer du pancréas à l’âge de 82 ans.

Homme d’une grande foi, le Père Gerry a consacré sa vie à prendre soin des autres et à encourager chacun d’entre nous à faire de même. Il était connu et apprécié pour son amour inconditionnel, son dévouement, sa grande écoute, son sourire communicateur et sa compassion infinie envers les malades, les mourants et leurs proches.

Durant ses derniers jours, Père Gerry s’est lui-même considéré privilégié de pouvoir bénéficier des services attentionnés des professionnels de la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île. Il a plusieurs fois exprimé le souhait de transformer l’église St-Raphaël en une maison chaleureuse accueillant des gens en fin de vie.

Nous sommes immensément heureux et fiers de travailler à la réalisation de son rêve, aujourd’hui devenu le projet de toute une communauté.

Il était une fois Romaine Ardizzon

Pianiste et compositrice autodidacte, Romaine Ardizzon avait un rêve : que sa musique soit un jour connue du grand public. Mais, comme il faut bien gagner sa vie en attendant la reconnaissance, Romaine travaillait comme réceptionniste à Élogia et à L’Image d’Outremont, deux complexes résidentiels pour personnes âgées du Groupe Maurice.

Puis, un jour, la maladie a frappé : un cancer. Profondément touché par ce diagnostic tragique et par la grande beauté de la musique de Romaine, Luc Maurice, le président-fondateur du Groupe Maurice, a décidé de faire de son rêve une réalité. Il s’est assuré de tout faire pour que Romaine puisse enregistrer son premier album. Son CD « Plus loin que l’Azur » a été réalisé avec l’aide de Raymond Paquin, ancien producteur et agent de Dédé Fortin du groupe des Colocs. Malheureusement, les enregistrements à peine terminés, Romaine est décédée.

À peu près au même moment, le groupe de bénévoles de la Maison St-Raphaël s’affairait à faire avancer son projet de construire une maison et un centre de jour de soins palliatifs, à la mémoire du Père Gerry Sinel, le dernier curé de la paroisse de Saint Raphael the Archangel, décédé lui aussi d’un cancer quelques années auparavant et qui avait si ardemment souhaité fonder une maison de soins palliatifs dans sa communauté.

Il s’avère que c’est Dre Justine Farley, présidente du conseil d’administration de la Maison St-Raphaël à l’époque, qui a accompagné Romaine Ardizzon jusqu’à son dernier souffle. Il s’avère également que Marie-Michèle Del Balso, première vice-présidente du Groupe Maurice, siégeait elle aussi au conseil d’administration de la Maison St-Raphaël. La communauté s’est alors retrouvée à la croisée de deux rêves : celui de Romaine et celui du Père Gerry.

En hommage à Romaine, ses proches ont cédé tous les droits de son CD à la Maison St-Raphaël, et le Groupe Archambault s’est généreusement engagé à en assurer la distribution. À ce jour, plus de 6 000 exemplaires ont été vendus, permettant d’amasser plus de 120 000 $ pour la Maison St-Raphaël.

Romaine Ardizzon aura réalisé son rêve deux fois plutôt qu’une : elle aura enregistré son album en plus d’aider la Maison et centre de jour de soins palliatifs Saint-Raphaël à voir le jour.

« Elle avait un sens de la mélodie très développé. Sa musique me fait penser à
celle d’André Gagnon. À l’écoute, on a le sentiment d’être dans un film. »
— 
Sophie Thibault, chef d’antenne à TVA et grande amie de Romaine Ardizzon

Pour acheter le CD (20 $ l’unité) :
C : info@maisonstraphael.org
La totalité des recettes de la vente de cet album est remise à la Maison St-Raphaël